Divinely Inspired

25/04/2012

What a day. What a day. 

i) Starbucks with myself

I woke up at 8 a.m. in the morning, and thought of going to the river to do my devotion. I got ready and went out, but it was too windy and chilly, so I walked 30 minutes to the city instead to have my devotion in Starbucks. I picked a quiet spot upstairs and flipped open my Bible as I sipped on my Kakao Cappucino. 

It has been awhile since I last had a time on my own like this, without distraction. I just kept reading on the story of Abraham and how his faith was tested by God. His story reminds me of the lesson I gave in care group once and how it has been applied in my life. Every day, every promise requires this faith and obedience. 

In hindsight, God has really walked me through the valley of decision to the mountain of providence. I wouldn’t be where I am now without Him going through it all with me. In fact, I believe he has done His work even before I embark on any journey. 

God is real. I’m slowly beginning to be convicted of it. He is real. 

 

ii) Coffeebean with Joe

After 2 hours in Starbucks and with the coffee now cold, I returned home. Joe called me on Skype. I found myself in another café, only without the aroma this time. 

We talked about how mentoring is done and what really is essential. Mentoring cannot be done in a classroom. The best way to do mentoring is to do life together. Jesus was always out there with his disciples, drawing lessons from lilies, mustard seeds, olive trees, buildings and so on. Incidents such as those with the adulteress, Zachaues, the rich man, Lazarus and so on must have left an impression on the disciples that they would otherwise not have gotten had Jesus just stayed in the synagogue with them every day. 

The spiritual life and the normal life should not be segregated. So, this is how discipleship should be done. 

 

iii) Dad and I 

I talked to my dad afterwards. I told him about my desire to be more intentional and practical in my spiritual life. I have too much theoretical and theological things in my mind. There is a need to translate them into action. 

Dad concurred. His recent meetings in care group and in church talked about these too. The Christians need to start walking the talk. We may not be saved by work, but we certainly are saved for work. 

I told dad about my vision with regard to water treatment. I want to go to areas where clean water is hard to come or a disgrace and contribute there with my knowledge. The company is doing well and has the right contacts with companies that have the expertise, so we should really make use of it. 

Dad caught the idea. Let’s see where God leads. 

 

iv) More than just practice

In the evening, I went to Ka Jin’s place for our Festival worship practice. Before we start, he showed me a video of this song called 27 Million by LZ7 and Matt Redman. The song talks about modern day slavery, child trafficking and sex trade. 

One of our worship song is Break Every Chain. The song talks about there is power in the Name of Jesus to break every chain. It was a song that touched me right on the spot. 

Then, I came home and I watched the video again. This time, it really wretched my heart. I was crushed for all those 27 million people who don’t have hope and don’t have a reason to live anymore. I cried out to God to help them. I cried for them. What’s significant about this is that I was never one who is apathetic for others. It passes me by as if someone just told me he drank a bottle of water. 

I have prayed to God for a love for people. I want to care for people and to really love them. I guess God has already started working in me. It feels good. I love people. 

I played the song Break Every Chain and realise the power of change I, as a carrier of the Name of Christ can bring to the world. There is power in the Name of Jesus that is unparallel, to break every chain. To break 27 million chains. To break the chains among my friends. To break the chains in my country. In the Name of Jesus. Amen. 

 

v) Blanket of Inspiration

At 12.30 am, Sara asked to Skype. We talked about our aspiration for the country, as usual. It was good to be reminded and encouraged again. 

She told me about the stories of Teach for Malaysia and EpicHome. Crazy. Crazy. Crazy. Seeing young people standing up and doing something really, really inspired me. I have now something clearer about my future. 

EpicHome is a group of young people coming together to build houses for the Orang Asli. Here, I see an opportunity where water treatment can feature. 

God will make a way. He has always had. I can see it. 

And, that’s what’s most important in our conversation. Our acknowledgement that we need to bring more than just solution, but that we need to bring a hope in the Name of Jesus. 

 

What a day it has been. Divinely appointed. 

Don’t you see? It’s his fingerprints. 

Love Jesus much. 

Leave a Reply

